Zack Greinke-May 10th, 2013

I had contacted the Lake Elsinore Storm about coming up for the game with my friend @Thebaseballphd to talk to some of the players for our blogs.  We were given permission and told 2 media passes would be left for us.  We had heard that Zack Greinke would be there doing a rehab start before coming off the DL, which meant that a lot more members of the press would be there covering the game.  Image

We arrived at 4:10PM and received our passes and were escourted to the press box and then down to the field.  As we were on the field taking pictures and talking to Lake Elsinore Storm players, we saw the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes players arrive and walk down to the field to stretch out before the game.  In the stand sitting next to a gentleman with a laptop open was Zack Greinke.  I decided since there was barely anyone there that I would go up to him and ask him who his favorite player was growing up.  My thought was to do the same thing that Dick Enberg did years ago when talking to Ted Williams, and that was bring up a topic no one has probably asked him about (in Dick’s case, it was talking about 2 innings that Ted had pitched against Detroit in 1940).  As I walked up to Ted, one of the Dodgers media people walked up and reminded me Zack had a social anxiety disorder.  I thanked him and walked over and waited.  The gentleman he was talking to motioned for me to talk to him, so I did.  I introduced myself and what I write about and asked him who was his favorite player growing up.  He said, “I’ll answer your question after the game assuming I talk to anybody.”  I thanked him and wished him well.

We did attend the press conference later where Greinke answered questions posed to him by the media.  I didn’t bother to ask him who his favorite player was then, I asked him how many rehab starts he thought he would need before he was ready to return.  He said, “I don’t know, I’ll talk to the organization and we’ll talk about it tomorrow.”  I recorded the entire press conference and will be taking time over the next couple of days to type it out and post it along with my thoughts that me and the @TheBaeballPHD had after the game.

Image

Leave a Reply

