Catching Up With an Old Friend-March 26th, 2013

One of my best friends growing up was a friend named Jim Pritikin.  We played ball together in our neighborhood, raced matchbox and hot wheels cars and did lots of stuff together.  His family came into my life when my mom had left my dad and his family treated me as a part of the family.  He was drafted in the first round (7th overall pick) by the Mariners in 1986 and played 3 seasons in the minors before hanging up his spikes and moving on to work for UPS.  During this time, he came to know Jesus as his Lord and Savior.  He now lives in Wisconsin with his wife Jodi and their 2 kids Lindsey and Nathan.

I hadn’t seen Jim in almost 26 years.  I found him on Facebook about a year ago and we’ve written back and forth on there.  He sent me a text telling me he would be in San Diego and he wanted to see me!  I asked about Tuesday at 7:30AM and he said that would work. I drove down to the Sheraton Hotel near Lindbergh Field.  I walked in the lobby, walked into the Starbucks inside and no Jim.  I walked back in the lobby and there he was!  We hugged each other and walked into Starbucks and chatted.  The 2 hours seemed to be just a few minutes.  We talked about our lives, past memories of things we did together.  Jim shared many stories about his time in baseball.  I encouraged him to start writing about them and I have my fingers crossed he’ll do it.  He gave me a card of his from 1989 and signed it to me.  I plan to frame it and put it on my wall.

We hugged and said goodbye and it was all I could do to not cry.  It’s been so long and I am so happy we’re back in touch.  May God Always Bless my “friend forever”, which is the quote Jim put on the card below.

Image

Leave a Reply

