Spring Training Trip-March 7th

I love this time of year and the opportunity to head to Arizona and catch some spring training games.  We left Thursday afternoon and headed straight to Yuma, Arizona.  The plan was to spend the night there and get up early the next morning and leave.  With the car packed and ready to go by 2:00PM, we heading out on the 8 freeway, but in the back of my mind I had decided to do something a little different.  I wanted to go to Desert Sun Stadium and walk around the area where the Padres use to play spring training games.  We arrived in Yuma at about 6:00PM and got to the old ballpark with about 30 minutes of daylight left.  As we walked around the outside of the park, I noticed a gate was open.  We walked in and were able to walk right onto the field!

Looking around the park brought back images in my mind of Randy Jones throwing his sinker, Dave Freisleben tossing his curve, Rollie Fingers breaking off his slider, Gaylord Perry tossing his famous spitter. I had memories of Dave Winfield smashing a ball in the gap, Nate Colbert and Cito Gaston hitting balls over the center field fence and Tony Gwynn hitting a shot in the 5.5 hole and they all played here on this field I was walking on.  Such great and wonderful memories!  I took some time getting pictures so you can see what the ballpark looks like now.

Image

For a moment, I was a kid again and was reminded of how much I love this sport.  No sport gives me the happiness and joy that baseball does, and no sport ever will even come close.

One comment

  1. Minoring In Baseball

    That’s why men love baseball so much..it reminds us of being a kid. Awesome that you were able to get onto the old field. Those spring training parks are so much like the minor league ones.
    -Mike

Leave a Reply

